BOKU

As you all know by now, I’ll be studying at the University of Natural & Life Sciences/Agricultural Sciences (BOKU) in Vienna, Austria.

BOKU is located ~20 minutes away from the city center and my apartment is about the same distance from both.

The length of my SA program is from early February 2016- July 4th 2016. For the 1st 2 weeks of the semester, I’ll be taking a beginners German language intensive course, and I’m excited to be learning another European language! I knew that I’ve always wanted to learn French and took 3 years of it in high school, but never in my life did I think I’d be learning German. Classes officially start on February 22nd, and thankfully that’s the day after my 21st birthday so I can celebrate before the semester starts :D.

A few courses I’ll be taking are:

I’ll probably have to add a couple more classes when it’s time to register because our credit hours system is completely different from their own. Taking 1 3cr class here is equivalent to taking 2 2cr classes there and so on.

Outside of school, I’ll be volunteering with an organization called Wiener Tafel. Their entire mission is to stand against poverty and provide food for those who don’t have. I’ll also be volunteering at a local food pantry a couple times a month!

Finally, I’ll be doing a lot of travelling with another Purdue Ag. student who’s also studying in Vienna, Stephanie! She’s pretty cool and down-to-earth. Given the fact that we have almost a month off right in the middle of spring, might as well do touristy things, haha.

That’s pretty much all I know about my semester there as of now. I hear we have a welcome week for exchange students! I cannot wait. As my fall semester here at Purdue is rounding up, I don’t think it’s hit me that I’ll be leaving my family & friends. Maybe after winter break something will happen, lol. Maybe not.

T-70 days until arrival in Vienna, Austria!!!!

BOKU

Bis bald,

Damola

P.S- “Bis bald” is German for “later”…translates to “until soon”.

 

Leave a Reply

